Looking For More

I’m looking for something more
What we had before isn’t enough anymore.
Satisfy my heart’s desire with your touch?
Yeah that’s outdated like the platforms my dad used to wear.
Give me More.
Something I can use, something tangible
That I can’t just pawn at the shop for 55 dollars
And give 15 of my closest friends a Chick-fil-a milkshake, please.
Please, do better.
I know I had a lot to say,
I know I said I wanted you close
But I want your presence, not your clothes.
Wait let me rephrase that:
I want your clothes on when you come over,
Bible in hand, ready to pray together so we can stay together.
I’m sorry was that too much?
Too much to ask or too much to expect?
Please be honest, because I need to know
if I can hold you to a higher standard because you’re called to higher standard
Or If you can only manage to remain on the pedestal that maintains its stagnation below the level of average.
I didn’t mean to come at you,
I’m just trying to have a open conversation.
You Know, the ones where there’s actual dialogue,
Growth and understanding?
Oh wait that’s better known as Nagging and Demanding.
Well, if you can’t fill these shoes
And you can’t swallow the plate of dignity I serve you
And you can’t share in the intellectual conversation,
I suggest you find another dinner date my friend.
Because the girl you’ve been yo yo-ing just realized
Shes a woman of integrity and respect:
In others words she has no reason to lack
And to be completely transparent you aren’t qualified to speak to her
If you can’t even bother to pick up the slack. 

Leave a comment